Oxford, out and about

We went to visit G's grandparents in Faringdon a few weekends ago. We hired the car, got all packed up, and roadtripped all the way to Oxford! There were lots of amazing sights to see along the way — perhaps the most interesting sight of all were the millions and millions of traffic circles! They're called roundabouts here. They're enormous, some with eight or nine exits. Thank goodness we had G's Nuvi to guide us!

But, suffice to say, we landed safely in Faringdon where it was cloudy and pleasant and the kettle was on and waiting for us.

This is the rather charming view from the kitchen window. That's pretty much what Faringdon looks like. If you go back a few pages you'll see what the rest of Faringdon is like (from our last trip out there) — very quaint, very pleasant, very green. 
I love our meals when we go a-visiting and granny and grandad. Everything is neat and orderly, and the food is always oh-so-delicious! I wish I had written this post up earlier because then I could have recorded all of the delicious treats we got. Oh well, next time for sure (I recall some amazing pies, delicious fresh asparagus, a variety of cheeses, biscuits and jams, chicken pieces and more). Above, our breakfast table. 
We had a very enjoyable weekend filled with antique roadshow discussion (see above for the inspiration of this topic of conversation!), amazing meals, excellent conversation and visits to Oxford, see photos below. 
This building, above, is the old prison which has been converted into a hotel of all things! The Malmaison, it's called.It's supposed to be very lush and pricey.
And Oxford Castle! There are castles, keeps and abbeys all over England, it's rather spectacular. I get a great sense of pleasure just looking at them. 
And a bizarre mexican cafe in the heart of Oxford (Lauriane, this reminded me of you and I felt I simply had to snap it up and ask, Que Pasa?!).
This is one of the central streets in Oxford. It's lined with shops, old artefacts, people dressed up (like the Pope!), and shoppers. Very similar to Bath, although considerably fewer Popes there. 
Ah, and old clock! And the soldiers do toll the bell in case you were wondering.
I had to pop in to the post office to send off a postcard so everyone was waiting very patiently for me to return.
And then we found Christ Church. The Christ Church College! Lookee!
Everything in Oxford is very Alice-themed. It's like Alice-Town. I like it. And Christ Church College is, of course, spectacular. 
It stretches on for miles and miles and is full of 'dreaming spires' (see above). Lovely. But then it started raining and we had to run for cover…
… but not before stopping to look at the trees (I just can't resist them, I think G is rather used to it all now).
We took shelter inside a small cafe just opposite the college. A pretty little cafe, also Alice-themed. 
There's the rabbit in the background, and his friends were dotted all over the cafe in rather pretty ink drawings on canvas. 
I had a jacket potato. It was enormous! It fills the whole bowl! I only ate about a third of it and G had to help with the rest of it.
Because I never have pictures of me.
Because I always have pictures of G.
Grandad and Granny had a fabulous Mad Hatter's Tea Party! It was really yummy looking.
And tasty! I love this picture, it's my favourite one from Oxford.
Annnddd then. THEN we found this bookshop. And I had to go in. And do you know what was inside? 
BOOKS. MILLIONS OF BOOKS. BOOKS, books, books … each for £2! And brilliant books, beautiful books, new, clean and fresh-smelling books! Books on Wittgenstein, books on courtesans, books on Elizabeth 1, books on Churchill, books on philosophy, and finally, Indian Novels (to which I have become particularly, unnaturally attached). 
Mmm. Thank goodness we had the car! 
And finally, what good would a visit to Alice-Town be without a visit to Alice's shop? Alice Liddel's shop, of course. It's tiny, poky, lined from top to floor with amazing Alice-themed novelties and gifts.
I did try to take pictures inside but it was oh-so-crowded and very, very busy. Opted to buy a white rabbit magnet and a postcard for the photo album, quite fitting methinks. Our photo album is growing! It's a lovely collection.
Just in case you forgot where you were for a moment. Loads of signs like this posted all over the place. Our rabbit is clothed in a red-and-yellow uniform and he has a trumpet. 
Oh, and before I finish this post, mom and Robyn, Oxford has an ENORMOUS Primark (HUGE) and it's fully-stocked and not so busy. In fact, hardly any queues, the people were civilised, friendly and polite. No pushing, no shoving, no trying-on in the aisles! We'll go there when you come again 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment »

  1. Rich Said:

    I love that, Malmaison – translates directly as "bad house" :PI really like Oxford. Climbed up a church that gave us great views, was next to the Radcliffe Camera (which is a massive library) and New College.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment