Archive for August 14, 2010

Hair cuts and Golf days

Working for an e-commerce company in London has it's perks. Free haircuts, for example, at one of London's top hair salons. 

So this morning, Sarah and I headed out to beautiful and bustling Covent Garden to Compton Hair where we had booked ourselves in for our haircuts. 
We were a little bit early so we sipped on frothy coffee (yum) and looked at hair magazines. This is Sarah trying to choose a new look. 
The "before" picture. I completely forgot to take one of myself! Soon after this picture, two of the hairdressers came to fetch us and we went our separate ways. Kalin, my hairdresser, is exceptional (and Bulgarian). I'd highly, highly recommend this to anyone in London: visit Compton and take advantage of Kalin's artistry (at the risk of sounding utterly absurd and girly). He really was very good though. The last hairdresser I went to in London was awful – he chopped off all my layers and told me that I needed to sort my hair out. Bleh. Kalin told me I had lovely hair, but he needed to make it look beautiful. 😀
I finished before Sarah, so I hopped along to her station where she was being thoroughly entertained by her hairdresser, Manuel (who is Spanish and rather cheeky): 
Chop, chop, chop! I got the fright of my life when I saw how much hair Kalin was chopping off (about 10cm off the length, and even more in some places!) but poor Sarah had to lose a lot more!
The end results were worth it though!
This is a self-portrait of our hair cuts after we left Compton. I should have taken a before image of mine — you can imagine it though: very long, very straight, very flat and very boring!
We stopped off at the bead shop on the way to the station and Sarah couldn't resist the charms of some very pretty, shiny earrings.
I took this photo a little bit later while we were on our way to fetch G's new golf clubs… just to show off my new haircut! Next time I'll choose a better pose 🙂 Not the best light. Hm. 
G bought some golf clubs from golfbidder.co.uk and we had to drive half way across London to pick them up. Thank goodness for Nuvi, the sat nav! 
We suddenly found ourselves driving over Tower Bridge so I had to quickly get the camera out. 
Driving over Tower Bridge, in the rain, opposite a London Cab! How novel.
And, true to English weather, there were some sudden downpours. 
But we made it! Here's G's golf clubs in his brand new golf bag at the driving range in New Malden. 
Thank goodness it was undercover! Here he is having a good stretch before trying to hit record yardage. 
… and trying out all his new irons. I took the opportunity to catch up on some reading… I am currently reading Stephen Fry's first novel, The Liar. An aside: the darker stretch of green running alongside the cubicle housed an automatic tee that would lift up a ball for you after each time you hit it. The ultimate lazy golfer accessory! 
And, finally, on the way back we got stuck in some very heavy traffic so Nuvi took us on a detour past the Houses of Parliament along the Thames! Good for sightseeing, methinks. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend