Muggs, Maya and Engrish

Just thought this was something you might appreciate: It took me ages to wrap up all of Daniel's presents (never mind shopping for them!) and it was only when trying to fit the oddly-shaped parcels into the scraps of leftover wrapping paper did I notice the dodgy 'Engrish' translations on the packages:

This awesome racing helicopter is not, in fact, a helicopter but a helicoper. AND, it doesn't take flight as your mind's eye would have you believe. It does, in fact, take fligr. Yes, it's that good. It is the 'new edition, new type' just in case you felt like you were getting last year's stock. Also, the fishing sets had a lovely tagline that really made my day: 
I like that a lot. As good as a play! Muggins, as usual, loved helping me wrap the gifts. His particular favourites are the enormous shiny bows and the trailing ribbons! He especially liked playing 'Knock over the biggest (and most delicately wrapped) present to nom nom the ribbons'. I caught him in the act here:

This was all new to Maya, who sat underneath my chair and couldn't believe the ridiculousness of it all. Here she is teasing Muggs: 
I especially like that she's sticking out her tongue at him! Although, that being said, when he'd had enough and had ventured out to the lounge for a quick nap, she sneakily tip-toed up to the present pile and had a go herself. Lady Muck.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment